written by AnaKacia Shifflet | photos by Stephanie Graston

In many ways it has felt as if this past year flew by without actually happening. In other ways it was never-ending, while demanding constant change. Life was in limbo, not quite a dream and not quite reality, looking back while trying to face forward. I survived COVID, an odd experience. I was also part of a new “club” called COVID “long haulers”, something I did not expect or willingly sign up for.

As a wife, a mother, a business owner, and a member of society who stayed in, canceled events, and socially distanced, I was left asking, “what will our lives look like now?”, “did I do the right things?”, “was there anything more I could have done?” There are no easy answers to any of these questions, and I still got COVID. As our kids took on e-learning and virtual classes that I struggled to facilitate, I was frustrated. I am not a teacher; I am a designer! Overall, this past year has stretched us and tried us in ways we never thought possible, and now we are at a crossroads, looking ahead but not sure where to step.

I made it my goal in 2019 to push my boundaries in every aspect of my life. If there was something I dreaded, I did it. If it was something hard, I did it two, three, four times over. I challenged myself to face fears and conquer obstacles. Coming into 2020, I was determined to make it everything I wanted it to be. I had goals and resolutions galore going into the New Year! It was going to be the most incredible year until the world shut down and slammed a door in my face, literally. It was like a punch in the gut knocking the wind out of me.