Colorado Marriage License Laws
According to Colorado law, you may obtain your marriage license in any county, as long as your marriage will take place in Colorado. The following information is based on Colorado statutes, and is therefore applicable statewide.
Applicants need not be residents of Colorado, however, legal identification for proof of age is required. Be prepared to present one of the following: a valid Drivers’ License from any state, original or certified copy of your Birth Certificate with an embossed seal, Military I.D. (with picture, signature and age of bearer), or currently valid Passport. Social Security number is required. Both persons should be present to apply for the license. If this is not possible, you will need to obtain an absentee application from any of the government agencies listed below. The unavailable person must fill out the form, signed in the presence of a notary. The affidavit and identification for the absent member should be presented to the Clerk and Recorder at the time of application.
The legal age without parental consent is 18 for both persons. If under the age of 18, and over 16, both parents or legal guardians are required to be present. Under 16 requires a Judicial Court Order.
If divorced, that person will need to have the date, place and court where the final decree was granted. If the bride-to-be had a change of name granted, at the time of the divorce, it will be necessary for her to have the civil action number.
The Marriage License Fee is $20.00 and most counties will accept cash only. The license may be used immediately, and is valid statewide for 30 days from the date of issue. Additional information may be obtained by calling any of the offices listed below.